Cittaslow is the international mark of accreditation for municipalities that provide the highest quality living environment, local produce, hospitality, natural environment, infrastructure, cultural history and identity preservation.

Cittaslow Netherlands

Cittaslow Netherlands represents the network of all municipalities in the Netherlands that have been awarded the Cittaslow accreditation. The municipality of Midden-Delfland became the first Dutch Cittaslow on the 28th of June 2008 and with it gained the title of Cittaslow Capital City of the Netherlands. On the 25th of June 2010 the municipalities of Alphen-Chaam and Borger-Odoom were also declared Cittaslows. And a year later, on the 25th of June 2011, the municipality Vaals was also named a Cittaslow. By creating a Cittaslow network, municipalities can cooperate to improve quality of life for its residents by cherishing their authenticity whilst promoting the use of new techniques which aid progress.